Award Scheme

The award scheme is progressive from Keas through to Venturers and is based around three core themes.


This covers activities that help youth members learn about themselves. This could include activities around leadership, creativity, beliefs and values, health and wellbeing, expression, innovation, interests, or any number of other areas.


This is all about pushing the boundaries of youth members’ comfort zones, and interacting with the environment around them.


This helps youth members learn about and engage with different communities, both local and global.


You gain your Bronze, Silver, and Gold awards by participating, assisting, and leading a set number of activities from the 3 core Programme Areas outlined above.

Adventure Skills

These are designed to help you gain the skills you need to participate in, assist with, and lead various adventurous activities.

Each Skill has 9 levels, each with a set of competencies to complete that build on the level before it.

You can complete these badges in your own time, or as part of the weekly programme.

Better World Badges

These are based on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). This is a set of 17 goals for the world that were agreed upon by world leaders in 2015 to make the world a better place for everyone.

Capstone Award

These are the premier awards marking the completion of your journey in each section. These are achieved through completion of your Bronze, Silver and/or Gold badges along with a set number of Adventure Skill and Better World badges.


Kohwai Award


Rata Award


Rimu Award

(Chief Scout Award)


Kauri Award

(King’s Scout Award)

Scroll to Top